Bright library with tall windows, desks and stacks of books

South Florida Private Schools: Tuition, Admissions and Deadlines

South Florida Private Schools: Tuition, Admissions and Deadlines

At the nine independent schools compared below, published top-grade day tuition runs from about $41,600 to $57,300 a year, mostly for 2026-27, and many of their application deadlines for fall 2027 fall between December 1, 2026 and late January 2027, so families moving here should start applying in the fall a year before they plan to enroll. This guide compares 11 schools within reach of Boca Raton, Fort Lauderdale and Palm Beach, with tuition, deadlines, testing and Florida’s scholarship rules, as of October 31, 2026.

Facts come from each school’s own website and the Florida Department of Education, as dated below. Tuition, deadlines and requirements change every year; confirm with each school’s admission office. This is general information, not educational or financial advice.

At a Glance

School Where Grades Top day tuition (year) Next deadline
Ransom Everglades Coconut Grove 6–12 $57,300 (2026-27) Jan 8, 2027
Miami Country Day Miami PK3–12 $56,400 (2026-27) Jan 22 (regular)
Gulliver Prep Miami-Dade PK–12 $56,100 (2026-27) Jan 15, 2027
American Heritage Plantation, Delray Beach PK3–12 $49,800 (2027-28) Rolling
Pine Crest Fort Lauderdale, Boca Raton PK–12 $49,670 (2026-27) Financial aid Jan 15
Saint Andrew’s Boca Raton PK–12 $46,750 (2026-27) Jan 18 (regular)
North Broward Prep Coconut Creek PK–12 $45,520 (year not stated) Jan 15, 2027
Palm Beach Day Academy West Palm Beach, Palm Beach Age 2 to grade 8 $42,600 (2026-27) Ask the school
The Benjamin School North Palm Beach, Palm Beach Gardens PK3–12 Up to $41,600 (2026-27) Dec 1

Broward and Palm Beach Counties

Pine Crest School

Pine Crest, founded in 1934, has a pre-K to grade 12 campus in Fort Lauderdale and a pre-K to grade 8 campus in Boca Raton, with 2,694 students for 2026-27, according to the school. Its 2026-27 tuition runs from $39,010 for pre-K and kindergarten to $49,670 for grades 9 to 12, plus a one-time $1,500 matriculation fee, and includes lunch and textbooks. The school says it “does not accept scholarship funds or vouchers.” Its financial aid deadline is January 15.

Saint Andrew’s School

Saint Andrew’s School, at 3900 Jog Road in Boca Raton, is a pre-K to grade 12 school in the Episcopal tradition with day and Upper School boarding students, according to the school. Its 2026-27 tuition runs from $35,000 for pre-K to $46,750 for Upper School day students, and boarding for grades 9 to 12 is $79,500. Upper School applicants take admission testing and an interview; the school lists an early deadline of December 1 and a regular deadline of January 18. It does not accept state scholarships, according to the school.

American Heritage Schools

American Heritage, founded in 1965, has campuses in Plantation and Delray Beach, according to the school. It has already posted its 2027-28 tuition, from $37,900 for pre-K to $49,800 for grades 9 to 12, the same on both campuses. It admits students on a rolling basis after a school-scheduled assessment, and it accepts Florida’s state scholarships through Step Up For Students.

North Broward Preparatory School

North Broward Prep, 7600 Lyons Road in Coconut Creek, was founded in 1957 and joined Nord Anglia Education in 2015, according to the school. Its published day tuition, for a year the page does not state, runs from $32,050 for pre-K to $45,520 for grades 9 to 12; seven-day boarding for domestic students is $72,620. For fall 2027, its early action deadline is December 1, 2026 and its standard deadline is January 15, 2027, and grade 9 applicants need an SSAT score by January 15.

The Benjamin School and Palm Beach Day Academy

  • The Benjamin School, founded in 1960, has a pre-K to grade 8 campus in North Palm Beach and an Upper School in Palm Beach Gardens. Its 2026-27 tuition “ranges from $19,991 to $41,600,” and its application deadline is December 1, then rolling as space allows, according to the school.
  • Palm Beach Day Academy, founded in 1921, which calls itself “Florida’s first independent day school,” teaches from age 2 through grade 8 on campuses in West Palm Beach and Palm Beach. Its 2026-27 tuition runs from $26,500 for a half-day early program to $42,600 for grades 6 to 8, according to the school.

Two more Broward options: Westminster Academy in Fort Lauderdale, which accepts Florida’s state scholarships and posts its 2026-27 tuition in a PDF on its website, and St. Thomas Aquinas High School, a Catholic high school of the Archdiocese of Miami, where tuition is $17,250 plus a $500 registration fee and applicants submit standardized test scores such as the HSPT, according to the school.

Miami-Dade Schools Worth the Drive

  • Ransom Everglades, Coconut Grove, grades 6 to 12: 2026-27 tuition is $57,300 including lunch. For fall 2027 the application deadline is January 8, 2027, and applicants need the SSAT or ISEE and an interview. The school says 18% of students receive aid, with an average grant of $42,850, and that it does not accept vouchers.
  • Miami Country Day, 601 NE 107th Street, Miami: 2026-27 tuition runs from $43,600 for early childhood to $56,400 for grades 9 to 12. Its regular decision deadline is January 22, with an earlier November 13 deadline for siblings, legacies and first-choice families in entry grades; the ISEE is preferred for grades 6 to 12, and the SSAT is accepted, according to the school.
  • Gulliver Prep, Miami-Dade, founded in 1926: 2026-27 tuition is $56,100 for grades 5 to 12. For fall 2027, its application deadline is January 15, 2027, with decisions on February 26, 2027. It does not accept state or federal scholarship programs, according to the school.

Coconut Grove and Gulliver’s Miami-Dade campuses are well south of Fort Lauderdale, so families in Boca Raton or Deerfield Beach should test the morning drive before applying.

Florida’s State Scholarships

Since 2023, every Florida K-12 student can apply for a state scholarship to a participating private school, with priority for households at or below 185% of the federal poverty level and then up to 400%, the Florida Department of Education announced in 2023; see its scholarship page. Families apply each year through a scholarship funding organization such as Step Up For Students. Several of the schools above, including Pine Crest, Ransom Everglades, Gulliver and Saint Andrew’s, say they do not accept these scholarships, so ask each school before you plan around one.

Questions to Ask Before You Apply

  1. When does the application open, and what is the deadline for the grade you want?
  2. Which entrance test does the school require, SSAT, ISEE, HSPT or its own assessment, and by when?
  3. Is there an interview, and can it be done remotely if you are still moving?
  4. Which grades usually have the most openings?
  5. What is included in tuition, and what fees come on top?
  6. Does the school accept Florida’s state scholarships?
  7. When is the financial aid deadline, and do families at your income level receive aid?
  8. If you move mid-year, does the school take applications on a rolling basis?

Buying or selling in Boca Raton, Fort Lauderdale or Palm Beach?

Tell us which residence interests you and what information you need. We'll help identify the relevant inspection reports, Structural Integrity Reserve Study (SIRS), association budget, reserve information and disclosed special assessments, subject to availability and access. Selling? Ask for a confidential valuation based on today's market and your building's status.

I'm buyingI'm selling

The Bottom Line

If you are moving to South Florida with children, start applications in the fall a year ahead, register for the right entrance test early, and choose a home within an easy drive of the school, especially if you are looking at Miami-Dade campuses.

More From Everything Luxury

Join the Everything Luxury Insider

One email a week, every Thursday: the best of South Florida, from new restaurants and openings to weekend events, new developments and our newest guides. Free. We never sell or share your details, and you can unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll email you once to confirm. See our privacy policy.

Sources (31) · all checked October 31, 2026
  • Pine Crest School, at a glance (undated): source
  • Pine Crest School, tuition, fees and aid (2026-27): source
  • Pine Crest School, apply (undated): source
  • Saint Andrew’s School, admission (undated): source
  • Saint Andrew’s School, tuition and affordability (2026-27): source
  • Saint Andrew’s School, Upper School admission process (undated): source
  • American Heritage Schools, Broward campus (undated): source
  • American Heritage Schools, Broward tuition (2027-28): source
  • American Heritage Schools, Palm Beach tuition (2027-28): source
  • American Heritage Schools, how to apply (undated): source
  • North Broward Preparatory School, about (undated): source
  • North Broward Preparatory School, tuition and fees (undated): source
  • North Broward Preparatory School, application process (undated): source
  • The Benjamin School, fast facts (undated): source
  • The Benjamin School, admission FAQ (undated): source
  • Palm Beach Day Academy, at a glance (undated): source
  • Palm Beach Day Academy, tuition and fees (2026-27): source
  • Westminster Academy, tuition (undated): source
  • St. Thomas Aquinas High School, about (undated): source
  • St. Thomas Aquinas High School, tuition and financial aid (undated): source
  • Ransom Everglades School, admission (undated): source
  • Ransom Everglades School, affording RE (2026-27): source
  • Ransom Everglades School, application process (undated): source
  • Miami Country Day School, fact sheet (undated): source
  • Miami Country Day School, tuition and fees (2026-27): source
  • Miami Country Day School, how to apply (undated): source
  • Gulliver Prep, fast facts (undated): source
  • Gulliver Prep, tuition (2026-27): source
  • Gulliver Prep, admissions (undated): source
  • Florida Department of Education, HB 1 signed (Mar 27, 2023): source
  • Florida Department of Education, Family Empowerment Scholarship (2026): source

Last updated October 31, 2026. Facts come from the sources listed above, checked on that date, and may change. Not legal, financial, tax or investment advice. Full disclaimer

What Is Your Florida Home Worth?

Thinking of selling? Request a private, confidential valuation based on today's luxury market. No obligation.

    Your information is kept confidential and never sold.

    Prefer an instant estimate? Get a free report at HomeValueReportFree.com.

    Mark Sandulli, Real Estate Salesperson, licensed in Connecticut (RES.0808170) and Florida (SL3216860). Dave Jones Realty LLC, 40 Center St, Prospect, CT 06712. Cell 954-839-7406 · mark@davejonesrealty.com

    Looking to Buy in Florida?

    Tell us what you're looking for and request listing alerts. Your request goes straight to Mark, in confidence.

      Your information is kept confidential and never sold.

      Mark Sandulli, Real Estate Salesperson, licensed in Connecticut (RES.0808170) and Florida (SL3216860). Dave Jones Realty LLC, 40 Center St, Prospect, CT 06712. Cell 954-839-7406 · mark@davejonesrealty.com

      Questions? Talk to Mark

      Thinking of buying or selling, or just have a question about a building or neighborhood? Send a note; it goes straight to Mark, in confidence.

        Mark Sandulli, Real Estate Salesperson, licensed in Connecticut (RES.0808170) and Florida (SL3216860). Dave Jones Realty LLC, 40 Center St, Prospect, CT 06712. Cell 954-839-7406 · mark@davejonesrealty.com